RSS

The tragedy that is Uganda now

16 Apr

This is an introduction to the facebook page I launched:

Link: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Pretoria-South-Africa/Uganda-Good-men-and-women-can-nolonger-keep-quiet/104496356253058?v=app_2347471856&ref=ts

Introduction

By Stephen Twinoburyo

This page has been established to express frank views and discuss, in a civil manner, matters affecting Uganda.

The state of systems in Uganda is very worrying and there little indication that the leadership is still committed to taking the country to a higher level.

I have always asked why, if President Museveni loves the country, he does not hand over the leadership of the country to somebody else for better management. 24 years at the helm have left Ugandans almost hopeless. And in all these years, his party position has never been challenged.

The recent state of riots and agitation are an indication of a society that is fed up and frustrated.

After the recent shootings at Kasubi, I failed to understand why the president had to force himself to a place he was not wanted and at the height of emotions. How many people must continue to die senseless deaths in Uganda? This brought me to this question: how many people have died in the central African region under one man, all in the name of power and control?

In the early years of Museveni’s rule, he boasted greatly how his army had massacred hundreds and hundreds of people in various regions of Uganda. These were Ugandans he was proud to have massacred, people that undoubtedly had loved ones, and whose families will never be the same again. When President Museveni lies on his bed, does he feel comfortable that thousands of people have died under his name, simply because he sought absolute reign and massive acquisition? I can hardly think of any modern man that has had so many of his people killed in his name. Hopefully, historians and researchers will in future help the world get estimates – the realization may turn out to be staggering.

One always wonders why our leaders never learn from history. Museveni’s attitude towards Ugandans has always been such that he can always do as he pleases with them and that he can never be answerable to them. He has never requested or asked anybody but has instead always ‘instructed’ the police, army, ministers, civil servants, heads of civil bodies e.t.c. He has dished out roads as gifts – a duty of government. People receive as rewards what he is paid to do – if there is anything like he is paid. No, it is too much.

I have come to believe that the greatest men are not those who project an image of invincibility. Mandela is one example. On the other hand, history is replete with “strongmen” that withered like leaves in a drought – Saddam was plucked from a hole and Charles Taylor is very helpless before simple men and women. When the wind reverses, such men become individuals and face the world.

If I am to talk about corruption, I may need a whole night. I don’t remember any Ugandan government that had reached this level.

Nepotism has become an institution. I, as a Munyankole, stand looked at in a suspicious manner because of the president’s grand scheme of acquisition. Yet, like many Ugandans, I live a declining quality of life while in Uganda because of his targeted/monopolized resources distribution.

I had taken some years without writing about Ugandan governance matters but after watching all that is happening in Uganda recently, I searched my soul and everything pointed towards one direction: I will no longer keep quiet. From now, my voice, my pen, my keyboard and my brain will be my contribution to Uganda.

Those who can, may post comments and those who cannot, you don’t have to.

If joining this facebook group may put you in a difficult position, please don’t.

In my opinion, President Museveni seems to be held in a self-constructed cage. He is reluctant to leave power because so many wrongs have been done, but he can only stay longer in power by doing more wrongs because he is hugely unpopular and unwanted. For that, the country will continue to bleed. The reality is that under President Museveni, the country can only get worse.

My conscience clearly tells me I can’t sit down and watch the situation in Uganda without adding a voice. It will not be comforting if in future I tell my children that I was powerless to do anything. I am prepared to carry the burden.

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
